| General Paediatrics | Cardiology | Endocrinology & Metabolism | Haematology & Oncology |
| Immunology, Rheumatology & Infection | Neurology, Developmental Paediatrics & Neurohabilition |
| Paediatric Intensive Care & Neonatology |
English

Clinical Sub-specialties
Paediatric Intensive Care & Neonatology
(初生及兒童深切治療部)

Paediatric Intensive Care & Neonatology
Dr Nai-shun Tsoi
Consultant
蔡迺舜醫生
Dr Kar-yin Wong
Consultant
黃嘉賢醫生
Dr Yiu-ki Ng
Consultant
吳耀基醫生
Dr Stella Chim
Associate Consultant
詹愷怡醫生
Dr Rosanna Wong
Associate Consultant
黃明沁醫生
Fellows: Dr Mabel Wong
   
Ward Managers: Ms Catherine So-chun Chan
  Ms Constance Po-fun Chan
Nurse Specialists: Ms Audrey Wing-seung Chan
  Ms May Suk-yee Yeung
  Ms Tomcy Suet-fong Leung
  Ms Josephine Sze-wai Lee

醫療活動與服務
Team photo
該專科提供兒童重症監護、新生兒重症監護和高危新生兒監護治療等臨床服務,並負責處理和治療所有在瑪麗醫院出生的新生兒。

PICU是一個接收18歲以下患者的三級醫療中心,轉診來的病人主要來自普兒科、血液專科、腫瘤專科、神經內科、小兒外科、神經外科、創傷科、ENT、肝移植中心、骨髓移植中心、口腔頜面及整形外科。特色醫療服務包括肝移植、癲癇手術治療、氣道梗阻鐳射治療的圍手術期重症監護,瑪麗醫院為全香港地區唯一開展上述手術的醫院。

NICU也是一個三級醫療中心,接收從公立醫院和私立醫院轉診來的新生兒,包括低出生體重新生兒、多胞胎、嚴重先天畸形特別是出生後需要立即給與醫療干預或手術干預的先天畸形患兒,並為所有從該中心出院的高危新生兒患者提供長期隨診和康復治療計畫。

Team photoPNICU位於瑪麗醫院K座10樓,2001年進行了大型的裝修改進,病房容積和硬體設施得到進一步改善,同年贊育新生兒部搬遷入瑪麗醫院目前設有7張PICU床位、15張NICU床位、1張HDU床位及35張SCBU床位,一個由多學科專家組成的醫療團隊(包括新生兒科、急救醫學、呼吸專科、腎臟科、護理學、營養專科、藥劑科、康復醫學)為患兒提供綜合性高品質醫療服務以及與此有關的精神社區醫療服務。所有ICU床位均配備了全套最先進的監護儀及呼吸機,並開展了高頻噴射通氣、一氧化氮吸入、血液透析、腹膜透析、血漿置換等高新醫療技術服務。所有患兒醫療檔記錄均錄入電腦系統。隔離病房可接收治療包括SARS在內的高度傳染性疾病。

新生兒重症監護病房繼續堅持現代重症監護循證醫學理念,為患兒提供早期肺泡表面活性物質替代療法、院內感染的防治、最佳嬰兒營養管理以及無創通氣技術的合理應用,並著重致力於為患兒提供更好的全方位醫療服務如最小干擾程度的護理及有創操作、提倡母乳餵養、生長發育計畫、NICU醫生對可能出生的早產兒的父母進行產前訪問和醫學諮詢、出院前家長培訓計畫及早產兒家長互助會。經驗豐富、訓練有素的新生兒轉運組將為重症新生兒的轉運提供醫療保障。

PICU年住院病人數約300人次,其中30%來自普兒科,10%來自血液與腫瘤專科,25%來自小兒外科,20%來自神經外科。就新生兒醫療服務而言,瑪麗醫院年分娩量為3500人次左右,其中大部分為高危妊娠,NICU年住院病人數約300人次,其中70%為在本院出生的新生兒,30%為外院出生的新生兒,SCBU病房的年住院病人數為2800人次左右。

贊育新生兒服務中心的搬遷
Neonatal transport team arrived at new NICU
兒科的新生兒醫療服務在30多年前始於贊育醫院。贊育醫院是香港大學的教學醫院,是香港唯一一所婦產醫院,在所有敬業的醫護人員及新生兒專家的努力下,贊育醫院高品質的新生兒醫療服務受到全港的高度讚揚和尊重。隨著新生兒重症監護醫學的發展以及全港地區出生率的下降,將新生兒和產科醫療服務與瑪麗醫院相合併被認為更加有利於開源節流、降低醫療消耗同時提高服務品質,因為瑪麗醫院配備了全套先進的包括CT和MRI在內的影像學設備,並可提供強有力的小兒外科和神經外科的專科支持和合作。因此,新生兒和產科醫療中心於2001年10月搬遷入瑪麗醫院。

新生兒科的搬遷也進一步提高了瑪麗醫院現有的醫療服務品質,K10S病房被主要用做PICU病區並提供標準隔離設施,K10N病房則改進為NICU和SCBU病區,同時升級了病人監護系統,為ICU住院病人裝備了電子病歷錄入系統(Clinical Information System,臨床資訊系統),此次裝修和搬遷亦使產房從QMH主樓搬遷入更加靠近新生兒病區的K9,這些舉動使得新生兒臨床服務品質得到加強和提高,並進一步鞏固了瑪麗醫院作為香港地區高危圍產中心的地位。

高危圍產兒合作計畫
Neonatal team round
隨著產前診斷技術和產科醫療服務水準的提高,越來越多的高危妊娠得以早期產前診斷,包括早產、多胎妊娠、重度宮內發育遲滯、先天畸形(如染色體異常、先天性膈疝、先天性腦積水等),新生兒專科的產前介入對提高圍產期醫療服務品質而言是非常關鍵的。

圍產醫學中心成立之後高危圍產兒合作計畫得到進一步鞏固和加強新生兒科和產科醫生每週固定時間開會交流,共同回顧高危病例、達成疾病處理的共識,兒科醫生和產科醫生一起為早產兒父母及先天畸形患兒父母提供產前醫學諮詢,對於需要收入NICU的病例,我們的專科護士將在其父母造訪NICU時為他們提供更進一步的諮詢指導,使他們能從心理上做好準備、更好地面對新生兒出生後在NICU接收治療帶給他們的精神壓力。高危圍產兒合作計畫提供了高品質高標準的新生兒監護和治療。

每月一次的圍產聽證會為討論病人預後和提高醫療品質提供了一個重要的途徑,同時為產兒科共同瞭解最新圍產醫學進展提供了一個極好的機會。

肝移植計畫
香港第一例成功兒童肝移植手術是1995年在瑪麗醫院完成的,現在瑪麗醫院是香港唯一的肝移植定點醫院,PICU病房參與術前及術後的病人監護治療,現在平均每年有6-8例兒童肝移植病例。

在香港,屍供體來源非常有限,大部分移植用器官來自於活供體,主要是父母或親屬,因此,與移植相關的各專科共同提供高品質的醫療服務,對於最大程度地取得移植手術的成功而言至關重要。在已完成的45例肝移植手術中,僅11例的供體為屍肝。接收肝移植術的指征為:膽道閉鎖(30例),其他原因(11例)或肝臟腫瘤和代謝性疾病(2例)導致的急性或慢性肝功能衰竭,其中2例患者需要接受第二次肝移植。目前我們的肝移植患者長期存活率達90%。

臨床資訊系統

New CIS system
K10的重新裝修使我們有機會安裝了臨床資訊系統(CIS),更好地進行病歷記錄。目前共安裝了28個床旁工作站、4個移動式無線工作站,從2002年11月份開始,所有ICU病歷記錄均採用電子病歷格式,CIS系統與監護儀、醫療設施、醫院臨床管理系統(Clinical Management System,CMS)的相互接駁,使得我們對病人臨床資料的查詢更加簡捷方便,目前由於手寫字體的難以辨認或筆誤導致的醫療檔錯誤發生率已降低到最小程度。隨著ICU監護技術的不斷複雜化,CIS系統的應用已成為保持醫療水準和品質的保證。應用CIS系統的另一個優勢在於醫護人員能簡便迅速地查找病人的既往電子病歷資料,為臨床聽證會和開展臨床科研提供幫助。目前,CIS資料被應用於新生兒感染、藥物應用和留置經口胃管方面的研究。

營養支援專科小組
自2001年開始,我們成立了胃腸外營養支援專科小組,目的是最大程度地減少胃腸外營養的併發症,小組成員包括兒科醫生、小兒外科醫生、專科護士及藥劑師,為臨床提供指導。小組成立之後,TPN導致的高膽固醇血症、靜脈置管相關性感染等併發症的發生率都極大程度地減少,目前,該專科小組的服務擴大到了其他營養支援領域,如家庭胃腸外營養、回腸造口術患兒粘膜造瘺口的餵養建立、以及短腸綜合征患兒特殊營養支持。

Preparing parenteral nutritionPreparing expressed breast milk

心肺復蘇術的培訓
Resuscitation in PICUPNICU專科負責保證瑪麗醫院兒童及新生兒急救品質,並根據目前最佳臨床依據定期更新和建立相關指南,在產房定期為臨床受訓者、護士、助產士等提供培訓課程。為保證心肺復蘇過程中正確有效的團隊合作能順利進行,我們還定期在不同的兒科和新生兒病房進行心肺復蘇演習。

能力和發展
通過多年的發展,在瑪麗醫院和香港大學的支援下,PNICU臨床服務得到良好的發展,人員配備完善合理,並積極參與來自於護理和其他相關健康服務領域的活動,為瑪麗醫院所覆蓋的地區提供了良好的醫療服務,促進了醫院的發展,兒童重症監護病房和新生兒重症監護病房的合併最大程度地利用了有限的醫療資源,新生兒科、兒童重症監護、呼吸專科、腎病專科、消化專科的專家共同分享各自特長,相互協作,保證了PNICU兩個亞專科得到更好的發展。事實證明,我們有能力在香港地區保持該兩個亞專科的學術領先地位。

Nurse training in ICU就PICU而言,我們將繼續支援香港地區醫療服務的發展,尤其是兒童血液專科和小兒肝移植的發展,我們還將在技術上支援葛量洪醫院小兒心血管專科與瑪麗醫院的合併,以便於能為小兒心血管患兒提供更加優質的專業醫療服務,同時,這也將使瑪麗醫院PICU病人疾病譜覆蓋所有兒童重症疾病,從而使瑪麗醫院PICU醫療服務達到國際先進水準。我們將與其他專科在提高醫療品質、開展醫療科研方面進行更多的合作,並改善與其他PICU中心(尤其是PYNEH)的協作,為香港地區的兒童提供高品質、高效率的重症監護醫療服務。

就新生兒專科而言,我們將在臨床服務和科研兩方面同時繼續加強與產科和贊育醫院高危妊娠產前診斷中心的合作。我們計畫通過香港兒科學院設立正式的新生兒專科培訓繼續教育項目。

科研/基金和獲獎情況
科研課題

  1. 新生兒聽力篩查
    我們與其他兒科中心合作,開展了普通新生兒聽力篩查和高危聽力篩查,目前我們正在進行的研究是關於"對所有新生兒在出院前應用雙階段自動腦幹聽力誘發電位進行普通聽力篩查的有效性"的臨床研究,該課題在SK Yee基金的資助下與PYNEH兒科共同合作進行。
  2. 香港先天畸形發生方式的轉變
    這是一項關於香港地區圍產醫學中心先天畸形發生方式的前瞻性研究,重點在於為產前診斷提供指導。該課題計畫與公共衛生系的另一項研究合作進行,以便於提供一個更加準確有效的地區性先天畸形報告體系。該研究目前與產科及產前診斷中心合作進行。
  3. 重度小於胎齡兒(包括重度體重差異雙胞胎)的出生後體格發育和神經智力發育狀況研究。
  4. NICU病房感染控制、手清潔和醫院內感染監測。
  5. 窒息新生兒和其他新生兒腦病的MR影像學研究。該課題與放射診斷學習合作進行。
  6. 壞死性小腸結腸炎的外科處理。
  7. ICU病房臨床資訊系統的應用研究。
  8. 危重患兒機械通氣策略。

合作
自1998年起NICU被Vermont Oxford Network接納為合作中心之一,作為地區性主要新生兒中心參與高危新生兒臨床資料收集的國際合作,目的是為了提高醫療服務品質和醫療安全。在所有408個加入到Vermont Oxford Network中、位於美國本土和其他國家的新生兒中心中,瑪麗醫院是香港地區唯一參與Vermont Oxford Network的新生兒中心,是亞洲地區三個參與到Vermont Oxford Network的新生兒中心之一,我們所提供的資料對於提高全球及香港地區的醫療品質都有極大的幫助。

PNICU專科與其他科室的合作非常緊密,特別是為小兒外科病人提供良好的監護技術,以及為根德夫人兒童醫院機械通氣中心的病人提供入院前評估和急診支援。

隨著ICU面對的重症監護技術、治療手段、替代療法以及終止生命的決策的不斷複雜化,ICU與醫學倫理學方面的合作變得越來越緊密。目前已建立的早產兒家長互助會為早產兒家長提供更好的支援和諮詢。PNICU專科還為在葛量洪醫院接受心臟疾病治療的危重新生兒和兒童患者提供ICU支援。

| General Paediatrics | Cardiology | Endocrinology & Metabolism | Haematology & Oncology |
| Immunology, Rheumatology & Infection | Neurology, Developmental Paediatrics & Neurohabilition |
| Paediatric Intensive Care & Neonatology |
Chinese

Clinical Sub-specialties
Paediatric Intensive Care & Neonatology
(初生及兒童深切治療部)

Paediatric Intensive Care & Neonatology
Dr Nai-shun Tsoi
Consultant
蔡迺舜醫生
Dr Kar-yin Wong
Consultant
黃嘉賢醫生
Dr Yiu-ki Ng
Consultant
吳耀基醫生
Dr Stella Chim
Associate Consultant
詹愷怡醫生
Dr Rosanna Wong
Associate Consultant
黃明沁醫生
Fellows: Dr Mabel Wong
   
Ward Managers: Ms Catherine So-chun Chan
  Ms Constance Po-fun Chan
Nurse Specialists: Ms Audrey Wing-seung Chan
  Ms May Suk-yee Yeung
  Ms Tomcy Suet-fong Leung
  Ms Josephine Sze-wai Lee

Activity & Service
Team photoThe team provides clinical service in Paediatric Intensive Care, Neonatal Intensive Care and high-risk neonatal care. It is also responsible for the care of all neonates born in Queen Mary Hospital.

The PICU is a tertiary centre admitting patients up to 18 years of age. Referrals are mainly from General Paediatrics, Haematology, Oncology, Neurology, Paediatric surgery, Neurosurgery, Trauma, ENT, Liver transplant, Bone marrow transplant, Orthopaedics and Oral Maxillofacial units. Highly specialized services such as liver transplantation, epileptic surgery, and Laser therapy for airway obstruction are territory-wide as they are only performed in Queen Mary Hospital.

The NICU is also a tertiary centre accepting Team photoreferrals from public and private institutions. Admissions include low birth weight neonates, multiple pregnancy and severe congenital malformations especially those requiring urgent medical or surgical interventions after birth. The team also provides and coordinates long-term follow up and rehabilitation programmes for those high-risk neonates discharged from the unit.

The PNICU is located on the 10th floor of K-block at Queen Mary Hospital. It was just renovated in 2001 to improve the capacity and facilities for the relocation of Tsan Yuk neonatal service. It has 7 PICU, 15 NICU, 1 HDU and 35 SCBU beds. A multidisciplinary team provides comprehensive and quality care with expertise in neonatology, critical care, respiratory medicine, acute nephrology, nursing, nutrition, pharmacology, rehabilitation and psychosocial services. All the ICU beds are fully equipped with state of the art patient monitors and ventilators. Modern treatment modalities including high frequency oscillatory ventilation, inhaled nitric oxide, haemodialysis, peritoneal dialysis and plasmapheresis are developed for critically ill patients. All patient documentations are now computerized. Isolation facilities capable of handling highly infectious disease such as SARS are also available.

The neonatal intensive care service continues to implement evidence based modern intensive care treatment including early surfactant replacement therapy, prevention of nosocomial infection, optimal nutrition management and the judicious use of non-invasive ventilatory support. Much focus has been put on improving total patient care including minimum handling and clustering of nursing care, breast feeding promotion, developmental care programme, antenatal parental counselling with NICU visitation for expectant parents of preterm delivery, pre-discharge programme and parents support group. A designated neonatal transport team is also available for transfer of critically ill neonates.

The annual PICU admission was around 300, of which 30% are from General Paediatrics, 10% from Haematology/ Oncology, 25% from Paediatric surgery and 20% from Neurosurgery. For Neonatal Service, the annual delivery rate in QMH is about 3500, most of which are high-risk obstetrics cases. The NICU admission is around 300 each year of which approximately 70% are inborn babies and 30% are outborn babies. The annual SCBU admission is around 2800.

Relocation of Tsan Yuk Neonatal Service
Neonatal transport team arrived at new NICUThe Department started the neonatal service more than 30 years ago in Tsan Yuk Hospital. It is the teaching hospital of The University of Hong Kong and the only maternity hospital in Hong Kong. With the devoted staff and neonatal expertise, the quality of service was highly respected in the territory. With advances in neonatal intensive care and declining birth rate in the territory, it is considered more cost effective to combine the neonatal and obstetric service with Queen Mary Hospital, where there are fully equipped on-site supporting facilities including imaging studies such as CT and MRI scans, paediatric surgery or neurosurgery specialties consultations. The neonatal and obstetrical services were thus relocated to Queen Mary Hospital in October 2001.

This relocation provided a chance to improve the existing service in Queen Mary Hospital. Major alteration of ward K10S was carried out for better PICU operation and provision of standard isolation facilities. Ward K10N was modified for NICU and SCBU purpose. The patient monitor system was upgraded and computerized patient documentation (Clinical Information System) for ICU patients was installed. This renovation opportunity also allowed the relocation of the delivery suite from a separated main building of QMH to ward K9, which was in close proximity to the neonatal unit. The integration enhanced quality and cost effectiveness of the neonatal clinical services and further consolidated the role of Queen Mary Hospital as a high-risk tertiary perinatal centre.

Joint High-Risk Perinatal Programme
Neonatal team roundWith advancement in prenatal diagnosis and obstetrical service, more and more high-risk pregnancies are detected early. These include premature labour, multiple pregnancies, severe intrauterine growth retardation and congenital malformations such as chromosomal disorders, congenital diaphragmatic hernia or hydrocephalus. Participation of the neonatal team in the antenatal period is essential in quality perinatal service.

The Joint High-Risk Perinatal Programme was further consolidated after the establishment of Perinatal Centre. The neonatal and obstetrics team have regular weekly meetings to review the high-risk cases and arrive at a management consensus. Paediatrician and obstetricians provide joint antenatal counseling for expectant parents complicated by preterm deliveries or babies with congenital malformation. For cases that required ICU support, the parents were further counseled by our nurse specialist during NICU visitations to make them better prepared for the stressful neonatal course. This programme provides a high standard and quality of care.

The monthly perinatal audit meeting provides an important channel for discussion on patient outcomes and improvement in patient management. It also provides an opportunity to share updated scientific knowledge in perinatology.

Liver Transplantation Programme
The first successful paediatric liver transplant in Hong Kong was performed at Queen Mary Hospital in 1995. QMH is now the only centre designated for liver transplantation in Hong Kong. The PICU team participates in the pre-operative and post-operative support. On average, 6-8 patients are transplanted each year.

Cadaveric donors are not readily available in Hong Kong, and most organs for transplantation were from living donors, mainly parents or close relatives. It is, therefore, more important for every discipline involved to provide a very high standard of care to achieve the greatest success. Of the 45 liver transplants performed, only 11 patients received cadaveric liver. The indications for liver transplantation include biliary atresia (30 cases), acute or chronic hepatic failure of other causes (11 cases) and liver tumour and metabolic disease (2 cases). Two patients required a second transplant. We have achieved the best long-term survival of more than 90%.

Clinical Information System

New CIS systemThe renovation in K10 allowed an opportunity to install the Clinical Information System (CIS) for better documentation. A total of 28 bedside and 4 wireless mobile stations were installed. Since November 2002, all ICU patient documentations were done electronically. The interface with patient monitors, medical devices and hospital Clinical Management System (CMS) allows more convenience in patient data charting. Errors related to poor documentation or illegible handwriting is now kept to the minimum. With the increasing complexity of ICU care, implementation of CIS is necessary to maintain the standard and quality. Another benefit of the CIS is that the electronic information can be easily retrieved for clinical audit and research purpose. Currently, data from the CIS is used for studies on neonatal infection, drug utilization and oro-gastric tube insertion.

Nutritional Support Team
Since 2001, a parenteral nutritional support team was established to minimize the complications related to parenteral nutrition. The members consist of paediatricians, paediatric surgeons, nurse specialist and pharmacist. They provide a consultative, supervisory and educational role. Complications, especially on TPN cholestasis and line infections, were much decreased. The team's service is now expanded to other nutritional support issues such as home parenteral nutrition, mucus fistula refeeding in ileostomy patients, and special formulations for patients with short gut syndrome.

Preparing parenteral nutritionPreparing expressed breast milk

Cardiopulmonary resuscitation training
Resuscitation in PICUThe PNICU team is also responsible for ensuring the quality of paediatric and neonatal resuscitation in Queen Mary Hospital. Guidelines were developed and updated regularly, according to the best available evidence. Regular training courses were conducted for trainees, nurses and midwives in the labour room. To ensure competent and efficient teamwork during resuscitation, regular CPR drills were conducted in various paediatric and neonatal areas.

Strength & Development
Through years of development, with support from the hospital and The University of Hong Kong, the PNICU service is well established. The team is well organized with active participation from nursing and allied health services. It facilitates the operation and development of tertiary/ quaternary services in Queen Mary Hospital. The combined Paediatric and Neonatal Intensive Care service allow better utilization of the very limited resources. The sharing of expertise within team members on neonatology, paediatric intensive care, respirology, nephrology and gastroenterology help to provide better development in the two sub-specialties. Indeed, we are able to maintain a leadership role and a distinct identity for the two sub-specialties in the territory.

Nurse training in ICUFor PICU, we will continue to support the development of tertiary/ quaternary services especially in oncology and transplantation. We will also support the integration of paediatric cardiology service from Grantham Hospital to Queen Mary Hospital in order to provide a better comprehensive multidisciplinary care for the cardiac patients. At the same time, this allows the PICU service in Queen Mary Hospital to reach international standard by having the full spectrum of patients. There will be more collaboration with other sub-specialties on quality improvement and research. We will try to improve the network with other PICU centres, especially PYNEH, to provide a high quality cost effective service to the critically ill children in Hong Kong.

For Neonatology, the partnership with the Obstetric service and the Pre-natal Diagnostic Centre in Tsan Yuk Hospital on high-risk pregnancy should be further strengthened, both on clinical service and research. The plan is to have the service accredited for Neonatology sub-specialty training by the Hong Kong College of Paediatricians upon formal establishment of the sub-specialty programme.

Research/ Grant & Awards
Areas of research interest:

  1. Newborn hearing screening.
    Studies on universal hearing screening and high-risk screening are performed in collaboration with other paediatric units. We are currently conducting a study on the implementation and cost effectiveness of a universal newborn hearing screening programme by Two-stage Automated Auditory Brainstem Evoked Response for all babies before hospital discharge. This project was collaborated with the Paediatric Department of PYNEH and was supported by the SK Yee Foundation.
  2. Changing pattern of congenital malformations in Hong Kong.
    A pilot study on the pattern of congenital malformations in a regional perinatal centre was conducted, with emphasis on the impact of prenatal diagnosis. A joint programme with the Department of Health is planned to provide a more accurate territory-wide congenital malformation reporting system. The study is collaborated with the Department of Obstetrics and Prenatal Diagnostic Centre.
  3. Postnatal growth and neuro-developmental outcome of severe small for gestational age neonates including twin babies with severe growth discrepancies.
  4. Survey on infection control, hand hygiene and nosocomial infection in NICU.
  5. MR imaging study on birth asphyxia infants and other neonatal encephalopathy. It is collaborated with the Department of Diagnostic Radiology.
  6. Surgical management of necrotizing enterocolitis.
  7. Application of the Clinical Information System in ICU.
  8. Ventilation strategies for critically ill patients.

Collaboration
The NICU has been subscribing to the Vermont Oxford Network since 1998. It is an international collaboration to collect data on high-risk neonates from major neonatal centres in order to improve the quality and safety of medical care. Queen Mary Hospital is the only centre from Hong Kong and is one of the three studied centres in Asia among a total of 408 centres in US and other countries. The compiled vital statistics is very useful for peer review and individual centre's quality improvement.

The PNICU team works closely with other service partners, in particular with paediatric surgery for better patient care, and the ventilator care centre in the Duchess of Kent Children's Hospital for pre-admission evaluation and emergency support.

With the increasing complexity of care, treatment options, alternative medical treatment and end-of-life decisions faced in the ICU, the collaboration with the medical ethics service became much closer. Premature babies parents support group was also established to provide better support and counseling. The team also provides PNICU support for critically ill neonates and paediatric patients under the care of the cardiac team at Grantham Hospital.