| General Paediatrics | Cardiology | Endocrinology & Metabolism | Haematology & Oncology |
| Immunology, Rheumatology & Infection | Neurology, Developmental Paediatrics & Neurohabilition |
| Paediatric Intensive Care & Neonatology |
English

Clinical Sub-specialties
Haematology and Oncology (血液及腫瘤科);

Bone Marrow Transplant Programme (骨髓移植)

Team Heads




Dr Shau-yin Ha
Consultant
夏修賢醫生
Dr Godfrey Chi-fung Chan
Professor
陳志峰醫生
Dr Alan Kwok-shing Chiang
Associate Professor
蔣國誠醫生
   
Fellow: Dr. Cheuk Ka Leung
卓家良醫生
Ward manager: Ms. Julia Fung
馮佩雯姑娘
Nurse Specialist : Ms Sau-ying Chiu
趙秀英姑娘

醫療活動與服務
Team Photo

我們為患兒提供血液/腫瘤疾病及血液幹細胞移植方面的臨床綜合性服務,其中涉及如地中海貧血,血友病等各種血液系統疾病。骨髓移植治療最初開始於1991年,在過去的十年間,由於骨髓移植應用領域逐漸廣泛,供者以及幹細胞來源的不斷增加(除骨髓外還有臍血與外周血幹細胞)而得到發展。我病區除接收香港地區醫院及醫生轉診病人外同時也接收來自澳門,中國內地以及海外的轉診病人。每年,我們接收大約60例轉診的新發腫瘤病人以及15至18例骨髓移植病人,為超過 60例的地中海貧血病人進行治療。同時還有大約700例長期無病生存的各種腫瘤病人在腫瘤門診定期隨診。

我病區位於瑪麗醫院K座8層。2002年,我病區被命名為兒童腫瘤及血液病中心(CCCBD),共有21張床位,其中包括有2張進行骨髓移植的層流病床,4間病房裝備有HEPA 濾過系統,1間供移植後病人使用病房以及3間供粒細胞缺乏病人使用的隔離房間。除了定期的專業門診外(腫瘤/血液/骨髓移植),我專業還與其他專科醫師聯合出診(例如與放射治療師,內分泌專業醫師聯合的長期無病生存病人門診以及與神經外科醫師聯合的腦瘤門診)。

Team Meeting 血液/骨髓移植
我院血液或骨髓移植治療計畫涵蓋兒童以及成人。在1994,我們成為香港首個成功為一例重型地貧病人進行同胞兄弟姐妹臍血移植的中心。此外也是最多例次地為原發免疫缺陷病患兒提供骨髓移植的中心。目前,我中心提供各種形式的幹細胞移植治療(異體或自體,相關或無關供者,骨髓/外周血幹細胞/臍血)。同時有選擇地對部分病人進行非清髓性移植治療。自身免疫性疾病是新的骨髓移植治療指征,我們於2001年首次為患此種疾病的病人進行了骨髓移植。至2003年底的12年間,共150名兒童及青少年在我中心接受了移植治療。

移植治療病種分佈

  • 高危或復發白血病 32%
  • 進展期或復發實體瘤25%
  • 重型地貧 19%
  • 免疫缺陷 12%
  • 骨髓發育異常6%
  • 自身免疫性疾病3%
  • 其他3%

約65% 病人渡過了移植治療階段,絕大多數成為長期無病存活者。非腫瘤病人(73%)移植後存活率高於腫瘤病人(54%)。通過應用改良的預處理方案,重型地貧治癒率達到80%,7例進行同胞兄弟姐妹臍血移植的地貧病人全部治癒。骨髓發育異常性疾病雖然罕見,但通過骨髓移植治療治癒率可達到78%。


能力和發展
Ward Round
我們不斷努力為病人提供更優良的臨床服務,為了適應病人的需求,我們將更多地傾向於關注流動的非住院病人的治療。此外,我們計畫改善病房環境以及升級設備,其中包括改善隔離條件從而控制交叉感染。

瑪麗醫院與香港大學之間存在多層次的緊密合作關係,而在我們部門內部,隸屬於香港大學或瑪麗醫院以及不同亞專業的同事間合作十分密切。在本部門以外,我們與其他科室部門同事為共同的工作目標也不斷進行積極交流。腫瘤是香港大學的研究熱點之一,每年一度的香港國際腫瘤會議正是由不同部門聯合組織的以腫瘤為課題的大會。我們有完善的關於地中海貧血不同方面的研究記錄。瑪麗醫院為病人提供血液以及骨髓移植的多學科服務,所有醫務人員共同努力致力於改善病人護理治療水準以及進一步增強研究能力。除此以外,我們還不斷地加強與醫院以外以及中國內地與海外的合作。


科研/基金和獲獎情

作為香港大學的一部分,我們的團隊一直積極做好醫學生,實習生以及研究生的教育培訓工作。同時與本地,內地以及海外其他國家的專家學者進行頻繁的臨床以及學術交流。團隊的成員積極與瑪麗醫院各科室以及其他醫院兒科進行研究合作。相關研究主要著重於地中海貧血,兒童腫瘤以及幹細胞移植3個方面。在過去的3年間,我團隊已發表44篇文章並獲得超過4500,000港幣的研究基金。現有6名研究生(5名碩士研究生,1名博士研究生)在我們指導下進行研究學習,在過去的2年內已有2名碩士研究生畢業。

我們主要的研究領域與研究興趣是:

a. 地中海貧血

我們關注地中海貧血各種綜合征中基因型與表現型間的關係;(新的口服螯合劑治療鐵超載的臨床試驗);監測鐵超載的新模式(MRI對內臟鐵蓄積的評估);改進支持治療(thalaset 針的應用, 生活品質的評估, 骨質疏鬆的研究)和移植治療的改進(降低預處理強度,臍血移植)。

b. 兒童腫瘤
Professorial Round 我們側重關注兩類常見的兒童惡性腫瘤,即急性髓細胞白血病/骨髓增生異常綜合征與神經系統腫瘤(腦瘤和神經母細胞瘤)。夏修賢醫生與陳志峰醫生分別是香港兒童血液和腫瘤研究組中相關疾病的負責人。通過體外和體內的研究,我們檢測新藥物或免疫治療在這些癌症治療中的應用情況(三氧化二砷, 抗GD2等)。同時我們關注各種臨床研究,包括粒細胞缺乏伴發熱的管理,生活品質QOL評估與止吐治療。

作為一個東西方文化交匯的城市,我們重視通過體內和體外的實驗研究傳統中醫藥對於癌症的作用(本地廣泛使用的中藥、靈芝提取物的免疫學和細胞毒效應)。

c. 血液與骨髓移植
在臨床研究中,我們探索了新的預處理方案即非清髓性方法和不同的幹細胞來源(臍血,外周血幹細胞,haploid identical donor)的應用。在實驗室研究方面,我們現在正在研究骨髓間充質幹細胞生物學和免疫學表現與其在移植中的作用。


合作
Team Discussion
在科室內部,我們團隊與其他專業團隊在臨床和基礎研究領域展開緊密合作。特別是,我們與免疫學/風濕病與傳染病學組配合,為他們提供臨床服務及開展移植治療。在科室以外,我們與外科、放射治療、病理科的同事合作同時還為他們提供臨床服務並促進基礎研究。

我們是香港兒童血液/腫瘤學研究協作組的成員。在協作組內部,我們彼此分享並定期回顧兒童腫瘤常用的治療方案。現在我們的治療效果與國外相同。

眾多的其他專業人員也為我們的病人和家屬提供幫助,他們包括護士、社會工作者、心理學家、演員等。括兒童癌病基金會(CCF)和兒童地中海貧血病基金會(CTF)的慈善組織也為改善基礎研究和臨床服務水準提供長期的支援與資助。在過去的兩年中,在CCF的協助下,我們已經建立了姑息治療團隊,向院內外處於疾病末期的病人提供幫助。兒童危重病基金(CCDF)是一個新成立的慈善組織,她同樣向我們的一些經濟困難而又沒有其他基金會資助的病人提供幫助。

病人和家屬也是我們治療中的重要的夥伴,例如春暉社是一個由患者的父母和癌症或血液病病人組成的一個互助組織。在這個組織成立的10年間,他已經幫助了許多新患病病人與家屬積極面對這些疾病的挑戰;地中海貧血病病人和家屬的組織多年間也做出了非常大的貢獻。

(于皎樂醫師譯)

Team Dinner

| General Paediatrics | Cardiology | Endocrinology & Metabolism | Haematology & Oncology |
| Immunology, Rheumatology & Infection | Neurology, Developmental Paediatrics & Neurohabilition |
| Paediatric Intensive Care & Neonatology |
Chinese

Clinical Sub-specialties
Haematology and Oncology (血液及腫瘤科);

Bone Marrow Transplant Programme (骨髓移植)

Team Heads




Dr Shau-yin Ha
Consultant
夏修賢醫生
Dr Godfrey Chi-fung Chan
Professor
陳志峰醫生
Dr Alan Kwok-shing Chiang
Associate Professor
蔣國誠醫生
   
Fellow: Dr. Cheuk Ka Leung
Ward manager: Ms. Julia Fung
Nurse Specialist : Ms Sau-ying Chiu

Activity & Service
Team PhotoOur team provides comprehensive clinical services in the areas of paediatric haematology, oncology, and haemopoietic stem cell transplantation. We look after patients with a wide spectrum of blood disorders including thalassaemia and haemophilia. As a tertiary centre in Hong Kong we provide care for children with cancer. Bone marrow transplantation was first established in late 1991 as a quaternary service. This programme has gradually expended in the past 10 years because of wider field of application, better availability of donors, and alternate use of stem cell source other than bone marrow, i.e. cord blood and peripheral blood stem cell. We receive referrals from local doctors and hospitals, and also from Macau, Mainland China and overseas. Annually, we receive around 60 new oncology referrals, and 15 to 18 cases of blood or marrow transplantation are performed. Furthermore, over 60 patients with transfusion dependent thalassaemia are currently under our care. In addition, about 700 patients, most being long term survivor of various kinds of cancer, are regularly being followed up in our oncology clinic.

Team MeetingThe designated clinical area is located on the 8th floor of Block K at Queen Mary Hospital. In 2002, it was named as the Children's Centre for Cancer and Blood Disease (CCCBD). There are 21 in-patient beds and a day unit. Two of the beds are equipped with laminar airflow system and designated for blood or marrow transplantation. Four rooms are equipped with HEPA filter system. One room caters for step-down care of transplanted patient, while three others are for reverse isolation of neutropenic patients. In addition to regular outpatient clinics (oncology, haematology, bone marrow transplant), a number of multi-disciplinary clinics are collaborated with other specialists e.g. radiotherapist and endocrinologist in the long-term survivor clinic, and neurosurgeon in the brain tumor clinic.

Blood/ Marrow Transplantation Programme
Blood or marrow transplantation service is a combined programme in our hospital which serves both adult and paediatric patients. In 1994, we successfully transplanted a patient with thalassaemia major with sibling's cord blood; this is the first cord blood transplant in Hong Kong. Since then we have developed a flourishing cord blood transplant programme. In particular, we have performed the largest number of transplants for patients with primary immunodeficiencies. Currently our centre provides different forms of stem cell transplants (allogeneic or autologous, related or unrelated donor, bone marrow or peripheral blood stem cell or cord blood). Non-myeloablative approach has also been applied to selected patients. Autoimmune disease is a new indication for bone marrow transplant. We first transplanted a patient with such disease in 2001. By the end of 2003, 150 children and adolescents were treated in this 12-year period.

Distribution of disease type

  • high-risk or relapsed leukaemia 32%,
  • advanced stage or relapsed solid tumour 25%,
  • thalassaemia major 19%,
  • immunodeficiency 12%,
  • marrow aplasia 6%,
  • autoimmune disease 3%,
  • miscellaneous 3%.
Overall, 65% of patients survive the transplantation and most of them are expected to be long-term survivors. The survival rate of patients with non-cancerous diseases (73%) is higher than that of those with cancerous diseases (54%). The cure rate for thalassaemia major reached 80% with improved conditioning regimen. The seven children who received cord blood from their siblings were all cured. Despite rarity, bone marrow transplantation achieved good cure rate, 78%, in patients with marrow aplasia.

Strength & Development
Ward RoundFor clinical service, we continue to work for better care of our patients. To accommodate the need of our patients, we are switching the focus from in-patient care to ambulatory care. Besides, we plan to improve the ward environment and upgrade the facilities, including better isolation to reduce cross infection.

There is close multi-leveled collaboration within our hospital and the University. Within our own department, close cooperation exists between the University and hospital staffs, and between members of different subspecialty teams. Outside the department, we have actively collaborated with other departments, all work towards common goals. Cancer is one of the main foci of research in this University. Hence, the Hong Kong International Cancer Congress (HKICC), an annual venture jointly organized by different departments of the University is precisely targeted at cancers. In our unit, there have been track records of active researches on different aspects of thalassaemia. This hospital runs the biggest service in blood and marrow transplant, which involves multidiscipline. Through joint effort, we aim at improving the care of patients and enhancing the productivity of researches. In addition, we continue to strengthen our collaboration with hospitals outside our own cluster, and our link with institutes in China Mainland and overseas.

Research/ Grant & Awards
As part of a University department, our team is always actively teaching and training medical students, medical trainees and postgraduate students. We have frequent clinical and academic interaction with professionals from local, Mainland China and overseas countries. Our team members have been actively collaborated with other departments of Queen Mary Hospital and paediatric departments of other hospitals in carrying out researches. The 3 areas of focus are thalassaemia, childhood cancer and stem cell transplantation. Over the past 3 years, our team has published 44 journal papers and was awarded with research grants of more than HK$ 4.5 millions. Six research students (5 MPhil and 1 PhD) are currently under our supervision and another 2 MPhil students have already graduated over the past 2 years.

Our main fields of research interest are as followings:
a. Thalassaemia
We focus on the correlation between the genotype and phenotype of various thalassaemia syndromes; clinical trials on a new therapy for iron overload (i.e. oral chelator); new modality in monitoring iron overload (i.e. MRI assessment of visceral iron storage); improvement of supportive care (i.e. use of thalaset needle, quality of life evaluation, osteoporosis study) and transplantation (i.e. reduced intensity conditioning, cord blood transplant).

b. Childhood Cancers
Professorial RoundWe target at 2 common groups of childhood malignancies, namely, acute myeloid leukaemia/ myelodysplastic syndrome and neurogenic tumours (brain tumours and neuroblastoma). Dr. SY Ha and Dr. GCF Chan are the respective protocol coordinators of the Hong Kong Paediatric Haematology and Oncology Study Group responsible for these two groups of diseases. By in-vivo and in-vitro studies, we have been examining the use of novel agents or immunotherapy (i.e. arsenic trioxide, anti-GD2, etc.) in the treatment of these cancers. We also target at various clinical studies including the management of neutropenic fever, QOL evaluation, and anti-emetic treatment. As a city meeting East and West, we also look into the impact of traditional Chinese medicine on cancer by performing in-vitro & in-vivo studies (i.e. local prevalence on use of Chinese herbs, immunological and cytotoxic effects of Lingzhi extracts).

c. Blood and marrow Transplantation
In our clinical studies, we have been exploring the use of new conditioning regimens, non-myeloablative approach and different stem cell sources (i.e. cord blood, peripheral blood stem cells, haploid identical donor). On the laboratory side, we are currently investigating the biological and immunological behaviour of marrow derived mesenchymal stem cells and its role in engraftment.

Collaboration
Team DiscussionWithin the Department, our team works closely with other subspecialty teams both in clinical services and research. In particular, we partner up with the Immunology/ Rheumatology/ Infectious disease team for delivering the clinical service and running the transplantation programme. Outside the Department, we have close collaboration with colleagues from surgical, radiotherapy and pathology departments in delivering the clinical services and pursuing research.

We are an active member of the local collaborative study group, Hong Kong Paediatric Haematology/ Oncology Study Group. Within the Study Group, we share common treatment protocols for most of the childhood cancers and review the regimens regularly. Our treatment results are comparable to those from overseas.

Many other professionals are also involved in the provision of support to our patients and their families. These include nurses, social workers, psychologists, play specialists, and many others. Charitable organizations, including the Children's Cancer Foundation (CCF) and Children's Thalassaemia Foundation (CTF) have also provided unfailing support and resources in the improvement of research and clinical services. In the last 2 years, with the assistance from the CCF, we have established a palliative care team, which has been providing both in-patient, and home care services for children in the terminal phase of their illnesses. The Children's Catastrophic Disease Foundation (CCDF) is a newly established charitable organization, which also supports some of our needy patients who are not financed by other charitable bodies.

Patients and their families are our important partners as well. The "Sunbeam Club" is a support group formed by parents and patients with cancer or blood diseases. For the 10 years that the group has been established, it has been helping new patients and parents to face the challenges of the illnesses. The thalassaemic patient/ parents group has also been active for many years and made valuable contribution.

Team Dinner