| General Paediatrics | Cardiology | Endocrinology & Metabolism | Haematology & Oncology |
| Immunology, Rheumatology & Infection | Neurology, Developmental Paediatrics & Neurohabilition |
| Paediatric Intensive Care & Neonatology |
English

Clinical Sub-specialties
Endocrinology and Metabolism (內分泌科)

Endocrinology and Metabolism Team Heads
Prof Louis Low
Chair Professor & Head
盧忠啟教授
Dr Pik-to Cheung
Associate Professor
張璧濤醫生
Fellow:
Dr Grace Poon
潘永潔醫生
Diabetes Nurse Educators:
Ms Kar-bik Lee
李家碧姑娘
Ms Ivy Mei-yee Au Yeung
區陽美儀姑娘
Ms Wendy Wan-yee Kwan
關蘊儀姑娘

Endocrine Team
兒科內分泌服務首創於1982年,但本部門對兒童營養和生長問題的關注可以追溯到上世紀60年代C Elaine Field教授和Flora Baber醫生進行的香港兒童生長發育界點的研究,該研究具有里程碑的意義。

醫療活動與服務

內分泌專科對患有各種內分泌疾病、糖尿病和遺傳代謝性疾病患兒提供全方位的服務,包括住院病人的管理、會診,出院病人的評估、長期隨訪等。

我們內分泌專業的卓越服務已為香港本地和亞太地區所認可。有來自亞洲、澳洲、歐洲和北美洲的病人轉診來此。許多患有複雜的內分泌疾病的澳門患者也由澳門特別行政區轉診我們內分泌科評估和隨訪。

除住院病人以外,我們內分泌專業的醫務人員每年還要在門診接待大約230名新病人和4000多例隨訪病人。每年在普通兒科日間病房要對那些患有各種內分泌疾病的患兒進行大約230次的內分泌綜合評估試驗。

在2003年我們系還舉辦了內分泌證書課程。有6位護士經過評估通過了這門課程並獲證書。


能力和發展

糖尿病門診

本部門每月開設兩次多學科的糖尿病門診。每2-3個月,患有1型和2型糖尿病的患兒將同包括兒科內分泌醫師、兒科糖尿病教育護士和膳食師在內的醫療小組成員會面進行有關問題的諮詢和討論。兒科臨床心理醫師還為我們內分泌和糖尿病患者提供優質的諮詢服務。三位訓練有素的兒科糖尿病教育護士除負責在院和出院糖尿病患兒及家長的糖尿病護理指導外,還負責協調工作和每年一次的糖尿病患者併發症評估。

在1997年12月,我們還開設了由糖尿病教育護士和兒科內分泌醫師負責的24小時糖尿病熱線服務。

DM Handbook2003年出版了適於患兒和家長閱讀的新版兒童糖尿病手冊。該部重要的教育小冊子由我們系前任的內分泌專科醫師Elaine Kwan醫生撰寫,由Elaine Kwan醫生和盧啟忠教授編輯,並為香港各大兒科內分泌門診廣泛分發。

自1995年起成立了家長支援組織。這個小組定期舉行會議,以加強心理支持,並鼓勵積極參與自我照顧。

1995年12月還成立了青少年自助組織,並定期舉辦活動以提高治療依從性,樹立正確的人生觀,並增強自我照顧的責任心。

多年來,內分泌專業的醫務人員負責組織由瑪麗醫院和東區尤德醫院的兒童和青少年糖尿病患者參與的每年一度的糖尿病夏令營和聖誕聚會。

自香港青少年糖尿病基金會成立以來,內分泌專業醫師一直積極組織並支援該基金會的香港兒童糖尿病活動。

兩性畸形門診
每兩個月都會舉行一次由各醫管局所屬的兒科內分泌專科醫師、兒外科醫師和臨床心理學家參與的多學科會診,以討論存在性分化異常和內分泌疑難問題患者的治療。

代謝性疾病門診
另一項舉措是在2003年成立了遺傳代謝病門診,主要是處理原先在普通內分泌門診隨訪的患有遺傳代謝性疾病的患者。來自產前診斷、臨床生化和兒童神經專科的醫師組成醫療小組,每兩個月一次討論門診新發病例和隨訪患者的進展和後續治療。

遺傳代謝性疾病的營養支持治療由內分泌專科醫師輸入並由營養師執行。患者在門診由兒科內分泌專科醫師和臨床生化人員共同診療。我們還打算在將來成立包括營養師在內的聯合門診,為罕見代謝性疾病的患者提供一站式服務。

我們專科還與上海兒科研究所顧學范教授、華中科技大學同濟醫學院羅小平教授建立了密切的合作關係;並希望在這些疾病的分子遺傳研究方面建立更為廣泛的合作。


科研/基金和獲獎情

內分泌專科醫師長期致力於兒童生長和青春期發育相關疾病的研究。隨著近幾年來全球肥胖發生率的不斷增加,我們正在開展兒童和青少年肥胖所帶來的代謝和心理問題的研究。

關彥華醫生作為香港兒科內分泌和代謝學會的代表,與學生健康服務中心共同發起了一份議定書,有針對性地在香港肥胖青少年高危人群中篩查2型糖尿病患者。

我們還發起了一項關於香港在校兒童參與學校制定的活動計畫前後有氧健身活動水準的研究,以促進由康樂和文化事務署組織的體能活動的開展。香港大學人力學會Alison MacManus博士共同參與了此項研究。該研究已經完成,結果將有待評估。

另一個感興趣的領域是宮內和早期生長發育遲緩兒童長期的健康問題。早先由Field教授和Baber醫生隨訪的一些兒童已經成人。結果顯示,出生時小於胎齡兒和兒童期追趕性生長不足的個體是高血壓和胰島素抵抗的高危人群。

兒科內分泌醫師共同參與了香港1型和2型糖尿病護理的研究。該專案是國際糖尿病聯合會發起的西太平洋地區的兩個糖尿病護理國際性基準研究的一部分(兒童和青少年糖尿病護理2001和兒童和青少年糖尿病護理2003)。

我們專科正著眼于全面的分子遺傳研究,以配合正在開展的臨床和實驗研究項目。主要的分子實驗室服務由張璧濤醫生和陳冠榮先生提供,並加強了與香港大學醫學系陳教授、人類基因研究中心和香港中文大學羅教授的合作。

目前我們採用了多項先進的技術,包括螢光基因分型技術、自動測序、單細胞PCR為基礎的基因分型、迴圈血漿核酸檢測和高通量單核?酸多態性分析。我們常規開展內分泌和代謝性疾病基因突變的分析,如穀固醇血症、先天性腎上腺皮質增生症、雌激素受體不敏感、脊髓和延髓肌肉萎縮、性分化異常、軀幹發育異常、與SHOX基因有關的矮小、CFTR基因突變,以及其他代謝性相關的出生缺陷。我們還與贊育醫院的產前診斷小組、香港兩所大學醫學院的婦產科學系和輔助生育部門建立了直接的聯繫,旨在開展21-羥化?缺陷、尿素迴圈障礙和6-丙酮醯四氫喋呤合成?缺陷等疾病的產前診斷。

研究專案還包括穀固醇血症遺傳突變和高膽固醇血症、特發性矮小、1型糖尿病的遺傳標記的分析。張璧濤醫生是國際1型糖尿病遺傳學研究組織-1型糖尿病遺傳聯合會(TIDGC)的成員。


合作

自1995年開始,盧忠啟教授與亞太地區的兒科內分泌專家一起積極參與籌建亞太地區兒科內分泌協會(APPES),該組織於1999年在吉隆玻創立,盧教授當選為學會的首任主席。

內分泌相關研討會科學委員會主席-新觀點和實踐論壇是有關兒童生長發育和內分泌疾病的,2005年,印尼巴里島

第十四屆國際新華內分泌大會組委會主席和科學委員會委員,2006年12月,中國香港

第十四屆APPES兩年一度的科學大會國際組委會和科學委員會委員,2006年11月,泰國帕塔亞

我們系內分泌專科醫師們一直作為教育人員積極組織和參與地區性兒科內分泌教育活動,尤其是由亞太兒科內分泌學會組織的那些活動。

在APPES培訓班堙A來自亞太地區各國的36位學員和8位教員一起參與了為期三天的互動的以病例為基礎的兒科內分泌培訓計畫。我們內分泌專科醫師作為教員參加了在馬來西亞吉隆玻(1999年)、中國上海(2001年)、澳大利亞凱恩斯(2002年)、韓國首爾(2003年)、日本淡路島(2004年)、中國武漢(2005年)和泰國帕塔亞(2006年)舉辦的這些培訓班。

教育和科學活動
由內分泌專科醫師參與組織的其他教育和科學活動如下:
1. 第一屆亞太地區兒科內分泌學會科學大會國際組委會和科學委員會委員,馬來西亞,1999年7月
2. 臨床內分泌醫師分子實驗室研究課程組委會主席,香港,2000年5月
3. 第二屆國際內分泌新華大會組委會委員,香港,2001年12月
4. 國際糖尿病聯合會臨床新進展進修班教員,主要針對從事青少年糖尿病診療的護士和醫師,新加坡,2002年4月
5. 第二屆APPES(2002年11月在澳大利亞舉辦)
6. 第三屆APPES每兩年一度的科學大會國際組委會和科學委員會委員,日本神戶,2004年9月
7. 國際兒科和青少年糖尿病協會波蘭Kraokon年會科學委員會委員,2005年9月

我們內分泌專科醫師還作為教員參加了在中國上海、武漢和廣東舉辦的兒科內分泌繼續教育學習班。他們中有香港兒科內分泌和遺傳代謝學會、香港內分泌、遺傳代謝和生殖學會的官員和委員會委員,還有香港糖尿病和香港青少年糖尿病學會顧問。張璧濤醫師是香港內分泌、代謝與生殖學會和香港兒科內分泌代謝學會的主席。

他們是國際內分泌專科雜誌,如兒科糖尿病、兒科內分泌與代謝以及兒科內分泌綜述等雜誌的編輯。他們還是國際兒科和青少年糖尿病學會科學委員會委員、國際糖尿病聯合會西太平洋地區兒童青少年糖尿病評估工作領導小組顧問委員。

盧忠啟教授已經兩次參與了由國際糖尿病聯合會組織的西太平洋地區糖尿病護理國際基準點的核查工作。

最近正與加拿大多倫多大學的Gary Rodin教授合作開展香港和加拿大兩地青少年糖尿病患者中飲食失調的跨文化的對比研究。

| General Paediatrics | Cardiology | Endocrinology & Metabolism | Haematology & Oncology |
| Immunology, Rheumatology & Infection | Neurology, Developmental Paediatrics & Neurohabilition |
| Paediatric Intensive Care & Neonatology |
Chinese

Clinical Sub-specialties
Endocrinology and Metabolism (內分泌科)

Endocrinology and Metabolism Team Heads
Prof Louis Low
Chair Professor & Head
盧忠啟教授
Dr Pik-to Cheung
Associate Professor
張璧濤醫生
Fellow:
Dr Grace Poon
Diabetes Nurse Educators:
Ms Kar-bik Lee
Ms Ivy Mei-yee Au Yeung
Ms Wendy Wan-yee Kwan


Endocrine Team Although the paediatric endocrine service was first established in 1982, the interest of staff of our department on childhood nutrition and growth dates back to the 1960s through the landmark research of growth on Hong Kong children conducted by Prof C Elaine Field and Dr Flora Baber.

Activity & Service
The endocrine division provides a comprehensive service of inpatient management, consultations and outpatient assessment and long term follow up of patients with different endocrine disorders, diabetes mellitus and inherited metabolic disease.

The endocrine division of our department is recognized for its excellence in service delivery both locally and in the Asia Pacific Region. Our division has received referral for care of endocrine patients from Asia, Australia, Europe and North America. Most Macau patients with complex endocrine problems are referred by the Macau SAR Government to our division for assessment and follow-up.

In addition to our inpatient service, staff of the endocrine division provides care to around 230 new patients and over 4000 follow up cases annually in our outpatient clinics. Each year, about 230 comprehensive endocrine assessments on patients with a variety of endocrine problems are carried out in the day bed area of the general paediatric ward.

A certificate course on endocrine investigations was held by our department in 2003. Six nurses in the paediatric unit were certified to perform these investigations after assessment.

Strength & Development
Diabetic Clinic
A multidisciplinary diabetic clinic is held twice a month and patients with type 1 and type 2 diabetes are seen every two to three months by a team of paediatric endocrinologists, paediatric diabetes nurse educators and dietitian. A paediatric clinical psychologist provides an excellent service to our endocrine and diabetic patients on a consultative basis. The three trained paediatric diabetes nurse educators are responsible for the inpatient/outpatient instruction on diabetes care for patients and their parents, and they are also responsible for the co-ordination and annual assessment of diabetic complications in our patients.

The diabetes nurse educator and on-call paediatric endocrinologist are responsible for the 24-hour diabetes hotline service, which was initiated in December 1997.

DM HandbookA new edition of the instruction booklet on the management of childhood diabetes (兒童糖尿病手冊) for the use by children and parents was published in 2003. This important education booklet was written by Dr Elaine Kwan and edited by Dr Elaine Kwan and Prof Louis Low. This educational booklet has been distributed widely to paediatric endocrine units throughout Hong Kong.

A Parent Support Group has been established since 1995 with the help of staff of the division and Dr E Kwan. This group holds regular meetings to enhance psychosocial support and to encourage active participation in self-care.

An Adolescent Self Help Group has been established since December 1995 and group functions are regularly held to encourage treatment compliance, to impart a positive outlook in life and to increase responsibility in self-care.

For many years, the staff of the endocrine division had been responsible for annual diabetes camps and annual Christmas functions for children and adolescents with diabetes attending Queen Mary Hospital and the Pamela Youde Nethersole Eastern Hospital.

Since the inauguration of the Hong Kong Juvenile Diabetes Foundation in 2001, staff of the division has been actively supporting the activities of this association in addition to the activities organized by the Childhood Chapter of Diabetes Hong Kong.

Intersex Clinics
A multidisciplinary consultative clinic involving paediatric endocrinologists from different HA hospitals, paediatric surgeons and clinical psychologists is held once every two months to discuss on the management of patients with disorder of sexual differentiation and difficult endocrine problems.

Metabolic Clinic
Another initiative is the establishment of the Metabolic clinic in 2003 for the management of patients with inherited metabolic diseases, who were previously followed up at the general endocrine clinic. Doctors from the prenatal diagnostic unit, clinical biochemistry department, paediatric neurology service will join the team every two months to discuss new cases seen at the clinic and progress of follow-up patients.

A resource manual of nutritional therapy in inherited metabolic diseases was complied by the Dietetics Department together with the input from the staff of the endocrine division. The patients are seen by a paediatric endocrinologist and a clinical biochemist at this clinic. We intend to include the services of a dietitian in this joint clinic in the future so that we can provide a one-stop service to these patients with rare metabolic diseases.

Our unit has close collaboration with Prof Xuefan Gu of the Shanghai Institute of Paediatric Research and Prof Xiaoping Luo of Tongji Medical College, Huazhong University of Science and Technology; we hope to establish some collaborative research on the molecular genetic of these diseases.

Research/ Grant & Awards
The staff of the endocrine division has a long-term interest in research in disorders of growth and puberty. With the recent increase in the prevalence of obesity worldwide, we have been studying the metabolic and psychological consequences of childhood and adolescent obesity.

Dr E Kwan, on behalf of the Hong Kong Society of Paediatric Endocrinology and Metabolism and in collaboration with the Student Health Service has initiated a protocol for targeted screening for type 2 diabetes mellitus among at risk obese adolescents attending the Student Health Service in Hong Kong.

We have also initiated a study on the activity level of aerobic fitness in Hong Kong school children before and after a school based programme to promote physical activity organized by the Leisure and Cultural Services Department. It is collaborated with Dr Alison MacManus of Institute of Human Performance of the University of Hong Kong. The pilot study has already been completed and the results will be analyzed.

Another area of interest is the long-term health consequences of growth retardation in utero and early childhood. Follow-up of some children initially seen by Professor Field and Dr Baber in their adult life has been completed. Result showed individuals who were born small for gestational age and had poor catch-up growth in childhood would be at risk of having higher blood pressure and being more insulin resistant.

Staff of the endocrine division has been the co-ordinator of a study on care of type 1 and type 2 diabetes in Hong Kong. It is part of the two international benchmarking studies on diabetes care in the Western Pacific region (Childhood and Adolescence Diabcare 2001 and Childhood and Adolescence Diabcare 2003) initiated by the International Diabetes Federation.

Our Division has focused on developing comprehensive molecular genetic studies to complement the ongoing clinical and research programmes. Core molecular laboratory services have been provided by Dr PT Cheung and Mr Chan Koon Wing, and strengthened by collaboration with Prof V Chan of Department of Medicine and the Human Genome Centre of the University of Hong Kong and Prof Dennis Lo of the Chinese University of Hong Kong.

Currently a wide range of techniques have been adopted including the state of the art fluorescent based genotyping, automated sequencing, single cell PCR based genotyping, assessment of circulating plasma nucleic acid and high throughput single nucleotide polymorphism analysis. We are regularly performing mutational analysis of a variety of endocrine and metabolic disorders including sitosterolaemia, congenital adrenal hyperplasia, androgen receptor insensitivity, spinal and bulbal muscular atrophy, disorders of sexual differentiation, campomelic dysplasia, short stature due to SHOX haploinsufficiency, CFTR gene mutation and other inborn error of metabolism disorders. We have also built up an intimate link with the Prenatal Diagnosis team at Tsan Yuk Hospital, and with the two Departments of Obstetrics and Gynaecology of both University Medical Schools of Hong Kong, Assisted Reproduction Team and aided the prenatal diagnosis of 21 -hydroxylase deficiency, urea cycle disorder and 6-pyruvoyl-tetrahydropterin synthetase deficiency.

Research programmes are actively ongoing to delineate the genetic mutations of sitosterolaemia and other genetic determinants of hypercholesterolaemia, idiopathic short stature and Type I diabetes Mellitus. Dr PT Cheung is a member of an International Research Group set up to delineate the genetics of Type I diabetes- the Type I Diabetes Genetic Consortium (TIDGC).

Collaboration
Prof Louis Low has been actively involved in the planning for the formation of the Asia Pacific Paediatric Endocrine Society (APPES) together with a group of paediatric endocrinologists of the Asia Pacific region since 1995. The APPES was inaugurated in 1999 in Kuala Lumpur and Prof Low was elected as the Founding President of the Society.

Chairman of Scientific Committee, Endolink Synposium - New Insights and Practical Issues is Growth and Endocrine Disorders in Children, Bali, Indonesia June 2005.

Chairman, Organizing Committee and members of the Scientific Committee Fourteen International Xiuhua Congress of Endocrinology, Hong Kong, China December 2006.

8 Member of the International Organizing Committee and Scientific Committee, Fourteen APPES Biennial Scientific Meeting in Pattaya Thailand November 2006.

Members of the endocrine division of our department has been actively involved in the organization and participation as teaching faculty in the regional paediatric endocrinology educational activities, especially those organized by the Asia Pacific Paediatric Endocrine Society.

In the APPES Training Workshops, about 36 trainees from different countries of the Asia Pacific region join 8 faculties in a 3-day interactive case-based paediatric endocrinology training programme. Members of the endocrine division had participated as faculty at these meetings in Kuala Lumpur in Malaysia (1999), Shanghai in China (2001), Cairns in Australia (2002), Seoul in Korea (2003), Awaji Island in Japan (2004), Wuhan in China (2005) and Pattaya in Thailand (2006).

Education & Scientific activities
Participation in the organization of other educational and scientific activities by members of the endocrine division:

  1. Member of International Organizing Committee and Scientific Committee, First Asia Pacific Paediatric Endocrine Society Scientific Meeting, Malaysia, July 1999.
  2. Chairman of Organizing Committee, Molecular Laboratory Research Course for Clinical Endocrinologists, Hong Kong, May 2000.
  3. Member of Organizing Committee, Second International Xinhua Congress of Endocrinology, Hong Kong, December 2001.
  4. Faculty of International Diabetes Federation Clinical Update Workshop for Nurses and Dietitians Working with Young People with Diabetes, Singapore, April 2002.
  5. 2nd APPES (Carries Australia November 2002)
  6. Member of International Organizing Committee and Scientific Committee of the Third APPES Biennial Scientific Meeting, Kobe, Japan, September 2004.
  7. Member of the Scientific Committee, International Society Paediatric and Adolescent Diabetes, Annual Meeting Kraokon Poland, September 2005.
Members of the endocrine division have also participated as faculty in continuing medical education workshops in paediatric endocrinology held in Shanghai, Wuhan, Guangdong in China. They have at one time or the other served as office bearers and council members of the Hong Kong Society of Paediatric Endocrinology and Metabolism, Hong Kong Society of Endocrinology, Metabolism and Reproduction and as advisors to Diabetes Hongkong and the Hong Kong Juvenile Diabetes Association. Dr. PT Cheung is the President of the Hong Kong Society of Endocrinology Metabolism and Reprodution and also the Hong Kong Society of Paediatrics Endocrinology Metabolism.

They serve as editors for international paediatric endocrinology subspecialty journals like Pediatric Diabetes, Journal of Paediatric Endocrinology and Metabolism and Paediatric Endocrine Reviews. They also serve as members of the Scientific Committee of the International Society of Pediatric and Adolescent Diabetes (ISPAD) and members of the IDF Consultative Section on Childhood and Adolescent Diabetes Western Pacific Region Leadership Needs Assessment Workshops.

Both Dr E Kwan and Prof L Low had participated in the two international benchmarking audit of diabetes care in the Western Pacific region organized by the International Diabetes Federation.

Another recent collaboration is a cross-cultural comparison of eating disorder among adolescents with diabetes mellitus in Hong Kong and Canada, with Prof Gary Rodin of the University of Toronto.